

## ATHLETICS SOUTH AFRICA NPC Athletics House, No. 3, 11<sup>th</sup> Avenue, Houghton Estate, Johannesburg, 2198 Tel: (+27) 11 880 5800 Fax: (+27) 11 788 6872 / (+27) 11 442 3091 P O Box 2712, Houghton, 2041; www.athletics.org.za

To: ASA Members

From: ASA Office

09 September 2021 Date:

No pages: 1

Dear ASA Members

## CIRCULAR 39 of ASA 2021 - RETURN TO PLAY, COVID-19 VACCINATION PROGRAMME

As you know that the 2021 ASA Marathon Championships will be held on 17 October 2021. An effort is being made by Athletics South Africa to present a solid case to the Minister of Sports, Arts and Culture, Mr Nathi Mthethwa, to allow us to increase numbers of participants to 7 000 (seven thousand) on the day.

You will also have noted a declaration by the Minister on Wednesday, 9 September 2021 in conjunction with the Deputy President of the country, Mr David Mabuza, that a return to play for spectators will only be possible once the majority are vaccinated against Covid-19.

ASA wants to take advantage of this opportunity to present a solid proposal to the Minister and government which we strongly believe will allow us to increase the number of athletes participating in the ASA Marathon Championships and also open doors to the controlled return of spectators to our events.

To achieve this, all members participating at ASA events are encouraged to provide official proof of vaccination. With this, we are confident that we will be able to present our solid case to the Minister and government to open athletics to the minimal numbers we are requesting.

We trust this will meet your speedy participation for the good of athletics.

Sincerely yours,

(Not signed due to electronical sending) Terrence Magogodela Acting CEO

James MOLOI (President) Jean VERSTER (Chair Track & Field) Norma NONKONYANA (Additional) Ntathu GWADISO (Additional)

Shireen NOBLE (Vice President) Hendrick MOKGANYETSI (Chair Athletes)

Jakes JACOBS (Chair Cross Country) Enoch SKOSANA (Chair Road Running) Esther MALEMA (Additional) Jazz MNYENGEZA (USSA Rep)

Board Members Adelina RANTHIMO (Additional)